The Agriculture Division functions under a Chief, supported by a team as in the organogram. The Chief is also Member of major committees/Boards.

Major Dealing Sectors

 Agriculture & Allied Sectors

 Crop Husbandry

 Soil & water conservation

 Animal Husbandry

 Dairy Development


 Storage & warehousing

 Investment in Agricultural Finance Institution

 Agriculture Research & Education

 Special Area Programmes

 Irrigation & Flood Control


 Ecology & Environment

 Forestry & Wild life

 Responsibilities of the Division

 Formulation of Annual Plans, Five Year Plans, mid term appraisal

 Preparation of Plan Budget & Economic Review (English & Malayalam versions)

 Review of plan implementation of the above sectors

The division conducts various Workshops, undertakes important studies, Prepares Projects & Reports, produces Publications, organise Task force monitoring of projects and facilitates Project implementation.

Key initiatives of the division

 Innovations in Agriculture

 Studies on Integrated Farming System.

 Multi institutional study on enhancing viability of coconut holdings

 Crop health management initiative

 New extension in agriculture

 Vegetable development initiative - monitoring and assessment

 Soil mapping in all panchayats

 Agro ecological planning and zonation